The Western Australian University Libraries (WAUL)


The Western Australian University Libraries (WAUL)

WAUL group is a collaborative venture designed to foster co-operation, sharing of ideas and joint actions to enhance the delivery of academic library services in Western Australia.


The group, then known as the Western Australian Group of University Librarians (WAGUL), met formally for the first time in October 1992 as a cooperative initiative of the four publicly funded universities in Western Australia. The University of Notre Dame Australia joined the group in 1999.   Since then WAUL has continued to meet to foster the development of university library services and collections in Western Australia. The group currently meets four times each year, and is chaired by each University Librarian on an annual rotation.

WAUL aims to:

  • Provide a forum for state-based collaboration on matters of shared interest
  • Provide leadership in developing the capability of the staff of member libraries
  • Inform the activities of member libraries in participating in the achievement of the teaching, learning and research objectives of their institutions
  • Encourage participation in regional and national debates on developments in academic libraries and information services and higher education in general

WAUL will:

  • Plan, implement and deliver professional development opportunities for staff of WAUL institutions
  • Provide structured opportunities for the regular exchange of information about the operations of member libraries
  • Provide a regional focus for the development of responses to sector initiatives and developments and represent these views at the Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) 
  • Share information about the development of objectives and strategies of the member libraries
  • Seek opportunities to develop partnerships with external agencies and organisations where such partnerships are likely to assist WAUL to achieve its aims


The WAUL member organisations are:

Curtin University

Edith Cowan University

Murdoch University

University of Notre Dame Australia

University of Western Australia


Current contact details for each member university librarian can be found at the CAUL Members webpage.

Author Larissa Denham
Last modified 9 September 2021