Call for Expressions of Interest to Host IATUL FALL 2021 SEMINAR


IATUL is issuing a call for proposals to host the 2021 IATUL Fall Seminar. IATUL hosts several different types of events in close cooperation with local partners. The main event is the Annual IATUL Conference. In addition, IATUL typically hosts a Seminar in autumn. Additional Directors’ Summits or Focus Workshops may also be offered throughout the year, in response to proposals from member libraries.

The autumn seminar is devoted to a theme of importance to the members and hosted by an IATUL member institution.  Recent themes have included: sustainable crisis management in libraries (Innsbruck, 2020); open science and data management (Gdansk, 2019); and workplace information literacy (Munich, 2018). For the Fall 2021 IATUL Seminar there is some financial support available to support the event.

IATUL events aim to support a professional and close exchange among the member libraries by giving the possibility to meet international colleagues in person. The focus is on creating long-lasting positive synergies from IATUL’s strong global network of institutions. Aside from the valuable content delivered at these events, they stand out because of the high level of engagement among the participants, library directors and senior managers from renowned institutions around the world. Members and delegates from more than 70 countries guarantee an international atmosphere and international perspectives on current issues in the library world.

The IATUL Board invites member institutions to submit expressions of interest to host the 2021 IATUL Fall Seminar. The seminar can be conducted as an online or in-person event. Requirements are the same as those for hosting an annual conference described at Please note that financial support from IATUL for the seminar is possible this year. Board members are available to consult on any potential proposal. Please consider submitting a proposal – these may be addressed to:

Board Members:

Ms Jill Benn, University of Western Australia

Ms Donna Bourne‐Tyson (Treasurer), Dalhousie University, Canada

Ms Teresa Chitty, University of Adelaide, Australia

Dr Charles Eckman (President), University of Miami, USA

Mr Lars Egeland, Oslo Metropolitan University, Norway

Ms Kate Robinson, University of Bath, UK

Ms Ujala Satgoor, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Dr Anna Walek (Secretary), Gdansk University of Technology, Poland

Dr J. K. Vijayakumar, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

Author Larissa Denham
Last modified 23 June 2021