Enter your email below and we will send you your password

CAUL Advisory Committees & Representatives Tuesday, 3 November 2015

In 2010, CAUL reviewed its complement of working groups, focus groups, steering committees, etc with a view to normalising their structures and protocols and confirming where it needed additional focus to implement the strategic plan.  All advisory committees report to CAUL through the Executive Committee and directly.

Regular membership renewal processes were instituted at the end of 2012.

An annual review meeting [members only] has been held since 2010, with the CAUL Executive and all committee chairs, to review the year's progress and make plans for the following year.  The record of the review meeting and the annual reports are currently available to members only, from this page, after login.

A number of members of CAUL also represent members on external bodies.   These are listed below.

Protocols & Terms of Reference

In the 2010 restructure, the terms of reference were revised, the protocols endorsed by CAUL, and the following advisory committees were confirmed.  There is some turnover of membership each year, with the two-year terms staggered to balance that turnover.

See also the CAUL Executive Committee
CCAC (CAUL Copyright Advisory Committee)

Program:  Copyright
Chair:  JoAnne Sparks (2015-2016)
Members:  Sandra Jeffries (2014-2015), Catherine Clark (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  n/a
Practitioners:  Sylvie Saab (Macquarie, 2014-2015), Robin Wright (Swinburne, 2015-2016)
ALCC/ADA observer:  Trish Hepworth (2013-    )

CEIRAC (CAUL Electronic Information Resources Advisory Committee)

Program:  CEIRC (CAUL Electronic Information Resources Consortium)
Chair:  Philip Kent (2014-2015)
Members:  David Howard (2013-2015), Fides Lawton (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  Howard Amos (from Nov '11)
Practitioners:   Alison Pepper (UoW, 2014-2015), Bruce Munro (UNSW, 2015-2016)
CAUL Executive Officer

CFAC (CAUL Finance Advisory Committee)

Program:   < Home » About CAUL » CAUL Corporate Information>  [Members only]
Chair:  Ralph Kiel (2013-    , Treasurer)
Practitioners:  Belinda Moore (UNE, 2015-    ), Mahamoodur Bhuyian (UNSW, 2015-   )
CAUL Executive Officer

CLPAC (CAUL Library Publishing Advisory Committee)

Program:  Publishing in University Libraries
Chair:  Roxanne Missingham (2012-2015)
Members:   Kate Kelly (2014-2015), Mal Booth (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  n/a
Practitioners:  John Emerson (UAdelaide, 2014-2015), Eva Fisch (La Trobe, 2015-2016)
CAUL Communication & Policy Officer

CLTAC (CAUL Learning & Teaching Advisory Committee)

Program:  Learning & Teaching
Chair:   Wendy Abbott (2015-2016)
Members:   Robert Gerrity (2013-2016), Stephen Parnell (2015)
CONZUL:  Damian Lodge (from September '15)
Practitioners:  Lynda Cooper (UNE, 2014-2015), Kim Lewin (QUT, 2015-2016)

CQAAC (CAUL Quality & Assessment Advisory Committee)

Program:  Quality & Assessment (formerly Best Practice)
Chair:  Jennifer Peasley (2015-2016)
Members:  Barbara Paton (2015-2016), Karmen Pemberton (2015)
CONZUL:  Linda Palmer (2015-    )
Practitioners:  Jennifer Bremner (Macquarie, 2014-2015), Adrian Gallagher (2015-2016)

CRAC (CAUL Research Advisory Committee) from 2013

Program:  Research
Chair:  Linda O'Brien (2014-2015)
Members:  Greg Anderson (2015-2016), Jill Benn (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  Janet Copsey (2013-2015), Anne Scott (2015-    )
Practitioners:  David Groenewegen (Monash, 2013-2015),  Steve Cramond (UMelbourne, 2014-2016), Peter Green (Curtin, 2015-2016)
ANDS Liaison:  Natasha Simons (2014-    )
CAUL Communication & Policy Officer

CSAC (CAUL Statistics Advisory Committee)

Program:  Statistics
Chair:  Leeanne Pitman (2015-2016)
Members:  Ruth Quinn (2015-2016), Kim Tairi (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  Ross Hallett (2011-    )
Practitioners:  Isabella Trahn (Macquarie, 2014-2015), Mark Sutherland (UNewcastle, 2015-2016)
CAUL Executive Officer
CAVAL (contract provider):  Cathie Jilovsky, Sae Ra Germaine

CCSAC (CAUL Collection Sharing Advisory Committee) - this committee was disestablished at the end of 2013

Program Collection Sharing (included ULANZ (University Libraries Australia and New Zealand))

CAUL Representatives on External Bodies

Libraries Australia Advisory Committee (LAAC)

JoAnne Sparks (2013-2015)

Robert Gerrity (2014-2016)

ALIA Higher Education & Research Advisory Committee (HERLAC)

Ruth Quinn (2013-    )

Frances O'Neil (VU, 2013-    )

ALIA Book Industry and Elending Advisory Committee

Alison Pepper (UoW, 2015-    )

Standards Australia Technical Committee IT-019 Information and Documentation, Information Technology

Lisa McIntosh (USydney, 2015-    )

CAUL/ASA Working Group

Philip Kent, Chair

Representatives from CAUL libraries:  Frances O'Neil (VU), Susie Shears (UMelbourne)

Representative from the Australian Society of Authors:  Jeremy Fisher, Mark Carthew

CAUL Communication & Policy Officer