CAUL Advisory Committees & Representatives Saturday, 19 November 2016

In 2010, CAUL reviewed its complement of working groups, focus groups, steering committees, etc with a view to normalising their structures and protocols and confirming where it needed additional focus to implement the strategic plan.  All advisory committees report to CAUL through the Executive Committee and directly to CAUL.

Regular membership renewal processes were instituted at the end of 2012.

An annual review meeting [members only] has been held since 2010, with the Executive and all committee chairs, to review the year's progress and make plans for the following year.  The record of the review meeting and the annual reports are currently available to members only, from this page, after login.

A number of members of CAUL also represent members on external bodies.   These are listed below.

Protocols & Terms of Reference

In the 2010 restructure, the terms of reference were revised, the protocols endorsed by CAUL, and the following advisory committees were confirmed.  There is some turnover of membership each year, with the two-year terms staggered to balance that turnover.  CONZUL is represented on most committees.

See also the CAUL Executive Committee
CCAC (CAUL Copyright Advisory Committee)

Program:  Copyright
Chair:  JoAnne Sparks (2015-2016)
Members:  Sandra Jeffries (2014-2017), Catherine Clark (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  n/a
Practitioners:  Robin Wright (Swinburne, 2015-2016), Jenny Ellis (UMelbourne, 2016-2017)
ALCC/ADA observer:  Jessica Coates (2015-    )
Co-opted practitioner:  Alison Makins (Macquarie, 2016-    )

CEIRAC (CAUL Electronic Information Resources Advisory Committee)

Program:  CEIRC (CAUL Electronic Information Resources Consortium)
Chair:  Philip Kent (2014-2017)
Members:  David Howard (2013-2017), Fides Datu Lawton (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  Janet Fletcher (from Jul '16)
Practitioners:   Bruce Munro (UNSW, 2015-2016), Eleanor Thomas (UniSA, 2016-2017)
CAUL Executive Officer

CFAC (CAUL Finance Advisory Committee)

Program:   < Home » About CAUL » CAUL Corporate Information>  [Members only]
Chair:  Ralph Kiel (2013-2017, Treasurer)
Practitioners:  Belinda Moore (UNE, 2015-    ), Mahamoodur Bhuyian (UNSW, 2015-   )
CAUL Executive Officer

CLTAC (CAUL Learning & Teaching Advisory Committee)

Program:  Learning & Teaching
Chair:   Wendy Abbott (2015-2016)
Members:   Robert Gerrity (2013-2016), Stephen Parnell (2015-2017)
CONZUL:  Damian Lodge (from September '15)
Practitioners:  Kim Lewin (QUT, 2015-2016), Michael Arndell (USydney, 2016-2017)

CQAAC (CAUL Quality & Assessment Advisory Committee)

Program:  Quality & Assessment (formerly Best Practice)
Chair:  Jennifer Peasley (2015-2016)
Members:  Barbara Paton (2015-2016), Karmen Pemberton (2015-2017)
CONZUL:  Linda Palmer (2015-    )
Practitioners:  Adrian Gallagher (VU, 2015-2016), Maureen Kattau (Macquarie, 2016-2017)
Co-opted practitioner: Sue Owens (Monash, 2016-    )

CRAC (CAUL Research Advisory Committee) from 2013

Program:  Research
Chair:  Linda O'Brien (2014-2017)
Members:  Greg Anderson (2015-2016), Jill Benn (2015-2016)
CONZUL:  Anne Scott (2015-    )
Practitioners:  Stephen Cramond (UMelbourne, 2014-2016), Peter Green (Curtin, 2015-2016), Simon Huggard (La Trobe, 2016-2017)
ANDS Liaison:  Natasha Simons (2014-    )
AOASG Liaison:  Dr Virginia Barbour (2016-    )
CAUL Communication & Policy Officer

CSAC (CAUL Statistics Advisory Committee)

Program:  Statistics
Chair:  Leeanne Pitman (2015-2016)
Members:  Helen Taylor (2016-2017), Paul Wilkins (2016)
CONZUL:  Ross Hallett (2011-    )
Practitioners:  Mark Sutherland (UNewcastle, 2015-2016), Kim Phu (Deakin, 2016-2017)
CAUL Executive Officer
CAVAL (contract provider):  Sae Ra Germaine

CCSAC (CAUL Collection Sharing Advisory Committee) - this committee was disestablished at the end of 2013

The Collection Sharing Program (included ULANZ (University Libraries Australia and New Zealand))

CLPAC (CAUL Library Publishing Advisory Committee) - this committee reverted to a Community of Practice in late 2016.

Program:  Publishing in University Libraries

CAUL Representatives on External Bodies

Australian ORCID Consortium Governance Committee

Margie Jantti (2016-    )

Libraries Australia Advisory Committee (LAAC)

JoAnne Sparks (2013-2019 (extended 3 years on April 18 2016))

Robert Gerrity (2014-2017 (Oct))

ALIA Book Industry and Elending Advisory Committee

Alison Pepper (UoW, 2015-    )

Standards Australia Technical Committee IT-019 Information and Documentation, Information Technology

Lisa McIntosh (USydney, 2015-    )

CAUL/ASA Working Group

Philip Kent, Chair

Representatives from CAUL libraries:  Frances O'Neil (VU), Susie Shears (UMelbourne)

Representative from the Australian Society of Authors:  Jane Coucher, Mark Carthew

CAUL Communication & Policy Officer